The God-Awful Trailer for Fincher’s Upcoming Film

I suppose I should preface this post by declaring (yet again) that I thought Niels Arden Oplev’s The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo was the best movie to come out in 2010. The two installments that followed were mediocre at best, never really carrying the emotional or dramatic impact of the original. Now (of course) here comes the American version, set for release later this year and directed by the very talented David Fincher. I won’t even get into asking why this film needed to be made when we all had the opportunity to see the original film…just last year. Is Fincher (and all of Hollywood for that matter) hard up on finding new material? Are producers so cowardly that they need to remake a proven commodity rather than take a chance on a new and original idea?

But never mind all of that. The trailer for this new American version was recently released and I must ask…how shitty is this??!! The 90+ second trailer is a mish-mash collage of quickly edited clips set to the music of Trent Reznor and Karen O doing a cover of Led Zeppelin’s “Immigration Song.” If you are not familiar with the books or the Swedish films, you have absolutely no idea what the movie is about. The trailer attempts to be dark, mysterious, violent, cool, and “hip” — but it’s nothing short of a mess. It caps off with the very tacky and campy tagline: “The Feel Bad Movie of Christmas.” Really, people? This is what they pay you big bucks for?

Listen, the cast is an impressive one and Fincher is an accomplished filmmaker. I’m not proclaiming that the film is going to be terrible. I just think that millions of dollars could have been put to much more productive use. It’s a shame our country feels the need to “one-up” the work of others on a continal basis. Shame on Fincher for taking this project on – and shame on all of those involved. If this trailer is any indication, we’re in for a car wreck of a movie. Give it a watch — and tell me what you think.

11 Responses to The God-Awful Trailer for Fincher’s Upcoming Film

  1. Richard says:

    Not too impressed either. I have faith that Fincher will do a good job, but it still remains a job that didn’t need doing. If the original adaptation had been shit then I could see a point, but it was far from it. Silly Fincher Award. 🙂

    • I am sure his film will be fine. He’s a solid director. I’m not saying he’ll do a poor job. But you are right…why do it? Especially since the original did a pretty damn fine job. A lot of people like this trailer. I don’t care for it. I don’t think I’ll be seeing this one. I love the original too much.

  2. 5plitreel says:

    Agree with Red here.

    I don’t really see how one can really dislike the film that much based on this preview; I mean it’s showcases a stylistic, very Fincher like view and the characters fit the bill, don’t stick out as odd ones.

    But I do get the whole point of not understanding why this is being remade, but tbh it wasn’t the most original film to begin with nor the best in it’s genre in Sweden. The Nordic countries produce loads of dark crime thrillers, tens and tens and tens of movies I’ve seen with similar themes, characters and plot twists. The politics meets murder scene is a much explored dynamic in Swedish crime literature. Maybe that’s why I’m not too upset they’re remaking this.

    I was much more annoyed with the remake of Let The Right One In, but it turned out quite good actually. So I don’t really have any expectations, but so far the trailer looks quite good.

    • First – thank you for sharing your opinions here. Greatly appreciated. I never said I disliked the film. I loathe the idea that this had to be made and I hate that Americans continue to take from other countries rather than come up with more original ideas. I agree with your sentiments about Let the Right One In — I was not at all looking forward to the American version…but I kept an open mind and I really enjoyed it. They did an admirable job – though I still prefer the original. I am aware of the Nordic films, but not as well versed as you might be. I know they have many tremendous novels in the crime genre. If you can recommend a handful of what you think are the “best” ones, I would appreciate it — as I am always looking for new stuff to see…thank you!

  3. Dan says:

    The only thing I would say about this film (and I didn’t like the trailer either) is how Fincher may adapt the material differently from the original. However, seeing the trailer it looks like the same movie. As you say, why is Hollywood wasting time and money making this film. An original concept would have been much more appealing for a director with Fincher’s skill.

    • Hey Dan! I was wondering if they were gonna tackle more than just the first book here, but I think they want to see how well this does — then milk it for three films. Certainly Fincher will want to do certain things differently, but I agree with you Dan. It will be the same film — just without the subtitles.

  4. Dan Heaton says:

    I also really enjoyed the trailer. I’ve never read the books or seen the original movies, and it was refreshing to see a preview that didn’t fold the usual model. Part of it could be the fact that I’d seen a large crop of trailers for awful-looking movies right before this one, including Mr. Popper’s Penguins and The Change-up. Compared to everything else, this trailer stood out as a unique take on the stale preview formula.

    • I can understand that point of view. There are a lot of lame trailers out there. This does stand out in terms of approach. Again, I am just biased because I remain very loyal to the original. The books are incredible, though the translation is not the greatest. I would HIGHLY recommend you watch the original film with the amazing Noomi Rapace. Thanks for commenting!

  5. Red says:

    I liked the trailer. I think this trailer was meant for people who have already watched the original version, so that they could get a decent look at what Fincher is doing.

    Even if it wasn’t aimed at those people, I prefer trailers like these anyhow. Absolutely none of the story is ruined in this trailer, and yet it lets you know it’s going to be a stylized, dark mystery from one of the better directors of today.

    I agree that this movie didn’t need to be made, but if there’s a director out there that I can trust with this type of story/movie, it’s Fincher.

    • Red, you know I always respect your opinion. Wouldn’t they want to target the people who HAVEN’T seen the movie — and find a new American audience that was ignorant of the original? It would seem to me that those who saw it are probably loyal to that one. And yes, I too hate trailers that give away too much in the trailer. Saw a trailer for the new movie, “Beautiful Boy” — and it gives away one huge aspect of the plot that really pissed me off. I don’t know, this one rubs me all the wrong ways. Fincher is better than this.

      • Red says:

        Saw that trailer as well. I do wish they would’ve left it as a school shooting and just that, but seeing how it’s probably going to be revealed fairly quickly, I’m not too upset about it. Really looking forward to that movie though.

        They’ll want to target a new audience of people who haven’t seen it, but I’m sure they’ll release a more public friendly theatrical trailer of it in the next couple months. It still doesn’t come out for another 6 months, so they’ve got plenty to time to market it. Why not get the fans of the first one on your side first, get them excited about it, and marketing to a newer audience will take care of itself in the time being. I know I’ve shown it to a few people who wouldn’t have watch the original versions.

Leave a Reply

