On a Brief Hiatus: Big Move Ahead!

So it is the 5th day of November already and I have yet to write a single post for The Lantern this month. No, I am not being lazy or dismissing my blogging duties. Actually, I have been crazy busy and haven’t stopped moving since last weekend. I am in the middle of a big move and trying to get everything settled as quickly and as efficiently as possible. I accepted a wonderful job in the great state of Virginia and will be moving down there (from Long Island, NY) next week. I spent Monday-Wednesday looking at many, many apartments in the area and found a great home, so that’s all set. It is a wonderful opportunity for me and looks like a terrific job with awesome people. So I am excited for the new start, but sad to leave my close family and friends. Bittersweet is the best way to put it. But I am sure I will be back up often and I have a spare bedroom for all who want to come visit and see Washington DC (very close) and Virginia.

Needless to say, I am falling behind in my movies just as the potential award nominees are being released. But that is only temporary. Once I am settled in, I will be sure to catch up and begin writing more posts the week of November 15th! I’ll try and write one or two posts before then, if I can squeeze it in. Sorry to my fellow bloggers for not checking out your posts recently — I will get back to reading your sites once I get the cable guys over. Thanks to everyone — now if you will please excuse me…I have more boxes to pack. Aaaggghhhh!!!!

15 Responses to On a Brief Hiatus: Big Move Ahead!

  1. Sebastian says:

    Just letting you know, as you are a regular commenter on my site, I changed the URL, and the old one does not redirect. I don’t know how to make it so it does, and I fear it’s too late. So, here’s the URL. If you could find it in yourself to pass it along to others, that would be great. I really, really, REALLY, don’t want to lose all the readers I’ve gotten over the past year. Thanks.

    http://fromthesupermassive.blogspot.com/

  2. Heather says:

    I should have put one of those on my site. I swear Andy from Fandango has posted far more than I have lately. I’m epic fail. Life interjects sometimes. No worries sir. I’ve been seriously sick, job searching, and dealing with strange life obstacles I could have never predicted in the last month. Who knew? One can’t predict these things. But we’re all more functional than any real family and we’ll all be here upon your return. Good luck on your move and setting in.

  3. Joel Burman says:

    Don’t stress out about updating! Its remarkable how fast you were getting settled with apartment and all when getting the new job.

  4. Corey says:

    That’s awesome Peter….congratulations! Best of luck to you and I’ll be looking forward to reading whenever you get back to writing.

  5. Richard says:

    Good luck and congratulations, Peter. Hope it all goes smoothly for you.

  6. Castor says:

    I knew you accepted that job far away but glad you clarified this for everyone here. Best of luck with the uprooting as well as the new job and congratulations again!

    • Thanks, Castor. I figured I had to at least write a brief post on the site rather than just on FB. Looking forward to reading AM like I always have when I get settled in (hopefully quickly).

  7. John says:

    Bummer that the blog will slow down, but congrats on the new opportunity!

    • Thanks so much, John. No worries. It will slow down for right now, but once I get settled in, I will try and write as much as possible….and read everyone else’s posts, as always. Thank you again!!!

  8. rtm says:

    Best wishes on your moving plans, Peter! Y’know I was just about to email you saying that I’m going to East Coast for Christmas visiting my in-laws … you said a while ago how beautiful NY is during the holidays. Take it easy about blogging… we’ll be back reading your wonderful posts as soon as you get to it. Take care and God’s blessings to you!

    • So sweet, Ruth. Thank you very much. That is wonderful news about your NY visit. You must be so excited. If you need any suggestions for where to go, eat, see, just let me know. I love NYC during the holidays. It is remarkable. You and hubby will love it. Thanks again!!!

Leave a Reply

