Gimme 5: Favorite Film Animals!

What do they say? Never do a movie with a child or an animal? I suppose this old adage stems from the fear of being upstaged by an adorable little girl in pigtails or a cute, furry creature. But there have been some wonderful movies centering on animals – and those films where an animal just has a few scenes, but steals the show! For decades we have had scores of unforgettable animals (Toto, Bambi, Spielberg’s Great White); many woven into the fabric of cinema history. To celebrate Halloween, I was going to do a “scary movie” Top 5, but I used that one up when the “Gimme 5” feature just started – so I chose this instead. I want all you movie/animal lovers out there to try this one – if you don’t, I’m calling PETA.

GIMME 5 FAVORITE FILM ANIMALS!!!

I will start…

1. Otis the Pug & Milo the Cat (1989)
(this should come as no shock to anyone familiar with my site. These two cuties made the best of friends though)
2. Elsa the Lioness (Born Free, 1966)
(Love the score to this film, but Elsa is the movie. Watching a human couple raise this orphan lion cub is a marvel to watch)
3. Virgil the Chimpanzee (Project X, 1987)
(this little guy breaks my heart. I always have a tough time watching this film – mainly because of his adorable facial expressions)
4. Dumbo the Elephant (1941)
(those blue eyes, that sweet disposition, those awesome ears! Tell me him being cradled on his mamma’s trunk while she is incarcerated doesn’t break your heart — and I’ll tell you that you’re without a soul)
5. King Kong (1933)
(The mighty king of ’em all…I used to watch this every year they played it on TV around Thanksgiving time. A superb film)

Now It’s Your Turn!!!

33 Responses to Gimme 5: Favorite Film Animals!

  1. Joel Burman says:

    1. Hooch in Turner and Hooch
    2. Elsa the lion from Born Free (I have such vivid childhood memories from this great tale!!!)
    3. The russian spy kittie from Cats and Dogs
    4. Dr. Zaius (Orangutang) from Planet of the Apes
    5. General Ursus (Gorilla) from Beneath Planet of the Apes

    • We agree on Elsa!!! Love her. Hooch is gettin’ a lot of love on this thread. Dr. Zaius is a very interesting choice. Surprised no one else has mentioned that one.

      • Joel Burman says:

        I am really nostalgic about Born Free, I think it was broadcast during christmas holidays the same day every year so it became tradition.

        I love both Zaius and Ursus they are among the best characters of the original Planet of the Apes verse…

  2. Richard says:

    Nice idea. Here’s what I’ve got.

    1) Remy – Ratatouille
    2) Gizmo – Gremlins (he’s an animal, right?)
    3) Dory – Finding Nemo
    4) Bruce the great white – Jaws
    5) Any cat. Stick a cat in a movie and I’m sold. Except Garfield. That sucked.

    • These are awesome! Gizmo most definitely counts! My pug looks like him. Remy rocks. Garfield did suck…doesn’t Bill Murray say that is his one regret in “Zombieland”? Haha….thanks for joining in Richard!

  3. Tara says:

    Lady ~ Lady and the Tramp
    Bambi
    Shadow ~ Homeward Bound
    Hooch
    Rafiki~ The Lion King

  4. Donna says:

    GIMME, GIMME, GIMME! great one!!!
    jerry lee definitely a favorite!
    hooch too—
    seabiscuit
    mumble

    how about a tv show??? marcel is one of my favorites! you know him!

  5. Tracey says:

    Babe
    Falcor
    Dumbo
    Mrs. Jumbo
    Baloo

  6. Pat A says:

    Balto
    Lion King
    Dumbo
    Jerry Lee
    King Kong

  7. Amy Wood says:

    Jungle Book-Baloo still cracks me up
    Gorillas in the Mist-supporting roles but those gorillas made me cry.
    An American Tail-Fievel -need I say more?
    Thankskilling-Killer turkey who gets some action off the slut, wears a mask of someones actual face, and knows how to be a cynical bastard. awesomeness wrapped up in a bad b movie that was meant to be a bad b movie.
    Rat-very underappreciated film. Although the rat is actually a human it interacts with other rats who are not so I think this should count. Poor Hubert learns some pretty valuable lessons and makes you go from despising him to feeling sorry for him.

  8. John says:

    Clyde the Orangutan is the Lawrence Olivier of Hollywood Orangutans. Let’s see… I’ll take:

    -Hooch, Turner and Hooch (it’s a weakness; saw it in the theaters when I was a kid and loved the dog)

    -Blondie the German Shepherd from “Downfall” (again… I love German Shepherds even though that jerk Hitler killed her)

    -Old Yeller. I shan’t say anything more about this lest I invoke tears in someone.

    -Are Muppet animals fair game? If so, Kermit the Frog has to be in there. Pick any muppet movie.

    -The monkey in Buster Keaton’s “The Cameraman”. I mean… that monkey saves the day for Buster.

    • Raul Duke says:

      Blondie. Bold Pick. It’s hard to be affectionate to something german.

    • Haha!!! They should use that quote on Clyde’s headshot. Did not see “Downfall” yet but I really should. Old Yeller is a classic and love the dog…I put him in an earlier post of 5 favorite film dogs. Muppets are fair game for any Top 5 list. Love Gonzo and Animal (whatever he is)….Great all-around list here, John…

  9. Nora says:

    Simba (Lion King)
    Toto (Wizard of Oz)
    Bambi
    King Kong
    Willy (Free Willy)

  10. Raul Duke says:

    Jerry Lee from K-9. This dog had it going on.
    Hooch. Sloppy but lovable.
    The Beaver from Dr. Doolittle.
    The Snake from Jungle Book
    The Gofer from Caddyshack

Leave a Reply

