Gimme 5: Clint Favorites!

The name — is Clint. An indisputable living legend and at 80 years old, his new film, Hereafter (starring Matt Damon) opens nationwide today. A 4-time Oscar winner, Clint Eastwood has done it all…actor, producer, composer, and filmmaker. His 35+ year relationship with Warner Brothers Studios has been beyond reproach and, like a fine wine, he only seems to be getting better with age. I recently posted my favorite directors in the “15 Directors Meme,” and I had to include Mr. Eastwood for his diverse canon of impressive work. I must admit that I hadn’t really thought of him as being one of our greatest directors, but with films like Mystic River, Bird, Unforgiven, and Letters From Iwo Jima, he is simply too talented to ignore.

Simply put, Eastwood is a Hollywood staple…an artist who broke into TV in the 1950’s before starring in the spaghetti western, A Fistful of Dollars (1964). I always look forward to seeing his movies and this week, I’d like to celebrate the man by asking you to share your 5 Favorite Clint Flicks – ones he starred in or directed…or both! With 60+ acting credits & 31 films behind the camera, there are plenty to choose from! So go ahead…make my day, and

GIMME 5 EASTWOOD FAVES!!!

I Will Start…

 

1. Absolute Power (1997)
(I love this one! Clint is a lifelong thief who is witness to a murder involving US President, Gene Hackman. Great stuff!)
2. Unforgiven (1992)
(Unlike any western you will ever see; his performance here is grand. His direction, masterful)
3. A Perfect World (1993)
(Very underrated. Eastwood is a US Marshal hunting down an escaped convict – Kevin Costner in one of his greatest roles)
4. Million Dollar Baby (2004)
(I saw this before I heard the buzz & it completely shocked me. A warm, powerful, & at times, humorous film. A mighty, unforgettable work)
5. The Good, The Bad and the Ugly (1966)
(The final installment of the “Dollars” trilogy, Clint is dynamic as “Blondie,” one of 3 gunslingers competing to find a buried fortune…a classic!)

Now It’s YOUR Turn!!!

 

25 Responses to Gimme 5: Clint Favorites!

  1. CMrok93 says:

    5. Mystic River
    4. Gran Torino
    3. Invictus
    2. Unforgiven
    1. Letters From Iwo Jima

  2. Castor says:

    Dude is a freaking living legend!

    5. The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly
    4. Unforgiven
    3. Gran Torino
    2. Letters for Iwo Jima
    1. Dirty Harry

  3. Phil says:

    Here goes:
    Unforgiven
    In the Line of Fire
    Dirty Harry
    Escape from Alcatraz
    Sudden Impact

    …And I could easily add about 10 more!

  4. Marc says:

    In addition to your 5 I would add Space Cowboys, Grand Torino and Hearbreak Ridge. I’m surprised “Every Which Way but Loose” isn’t here but to be fair Clyde really stole the show. Also that movie was so across the board it’s tough to follow it these days without the drugs our parents took:P

    I will never get the appeal of Unforgiven but maybe that’s just me:)

    • Heartbreak Ridge was a good one. I remember really loving the first half of the film, and thought the second part could have been better, but I may not be remembering all that well. Love Clyde and Clint together — those were fun movies! I remember my dad taking me to see that when I was little. Glad to see Gran Torino gettin’ some love on these coments…..

  5. rtm says:

    There are still a lot of Clint’s movies I haven’t seen, Gran Torino is still on my Netflix queue. But of the ones I’ve seen, I like:

    • Dirty Harry
    • In the Line of Fire
    • Space Cowboys
    • Invictus
    • Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

    He’s quite funny in Paint Your Wagon, too, and the dude can sing! 🙂

    • I was wondering if anyone was going to mention Paint Your Wagon!!! Haha!!! I did enjoy Invictus very much and LOVE In the Line of Fire — great pick. You should absolutely watch Gran Torino…tough to watch at times, but is very warm and at times, quite funny. I HATED Garden of Good/Evil. I only saw it once, so maybe I need to re-watch…I just remember the feeling of wishing it would end already!!! Yuck…

      • rtm says:

        I probably should’ve put Paint Your Wagon in place of ‘Midnight…’ as I enjoyed it more. Gran Torino had a Minnesota connection I hear, all the more reason for me to check it out. It’s like Dirty Harry… the later years 🙂 I like the chemistry between Rene Russo in Line of Fire… she’s one of the mature actress I like that I wish hadn’t disappeared from Hollywood (hence my upcoming post).

        • Oooo, curious to read it. She is in smaller roles now – I’m not a huge fan – but would very much like to read your take on her and her career. She did have good chemistry with Clint, so you are certainly right about that. Yes — see Gran Torino and then I wanna see a review on FlixChatter, baby!

          • rtm says:

            Hi there Peter, that post isn’t just about Russo, but she gets a mention. It should be up tomorrow as I have a couple of things on schedule for today.

            I’ll let you know when I see Gran Torino, I have a high expectation now after seeing how much people praise it.

      • Raul Duke says:

        Line Of Fire… Good One. Malkovich back again with the fierce sexuality

  6. Nora says:

    I love Mystic River, Unforgiven and Million Dollar Baby!! Unfortunately cannot complete five- not familiar enough. Just added a bunch of his movies to my Netflix. Thanks!

    • Yeah, look at his work on Rotten Tomatoes or IMDb. So many brilliant films. Not only ones he directed, but so many from the 60’s and 70’s he starred in. His first directorial effort is also a great choice, “Play Misty For Me.” Plus all the Sergio Leone westerns….

  7. Raul Duke says:

    Kelly’s Heroes
    Eiger Sanction
    Outlaw Josey Wales
    Dirty Harry
    Million Dollar Baby

  8. John says:

    It’s kind of amazing that you could do a list both ways- 5 that he directed AND 5 he starred in. I’ll go:

    1. The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
    2. Unforgiven
    3. High Plains Drifter
    4. Gran Torino
    5. Letters from Iwo Jima

    Honorable mentions to… Um… every other thing he’s ever done. For me, with Eastwood, I find myself thinking “This is easily a 5 star film on Netflix” at some point in just about everything he directs. And then it carries on a bit too long because of his famous disdain for editing, and before you know it, I’ve given all of the movies he directed “only” 4 out of 5 stars.

    Don’t get me wrong, though. It’s the only real complaint I have. The guy is incredible.

    • Understood. I get you. I loved Letters from Iwo Jima — one of the very best from that year. All great choices here. Too bad Netflix doesn’t use the 1/2 stars — sucks that they don’t bother with that.

  9. Richard says:

    Jeez, only five? That’s not so easy but here goes.

    1) Unforgiven
    2) Gran Torino
    3) Dirty Harry
    4) The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
    5) Million Dollar Baby

  10. Dan says:

    Oh so many to choose from. I think Dirty Harry would have to be up there along with The Good, The Bad and the Ugly. I’m a fan of Absolute Power though so good choice for No. 1 Peter!

    • I didn’t put them in any order, but Absolute Power is surely in my Top 5. Love Dirty Harry – those are iconic films. There are so many too pick from with him. He’s been a prolific artist.

Leave a Reply

