15 Directors Meme

I got tagged. This time, by Sebastian over at Films from the Supermassive Black Hole, who was thoughtful enough to pass this Meme along to me. The task? Easy enough. Come up with 15 filmmakers that helped shape the way I look at motion pictures. These are the directors that go to the top of my list – prolific directors who have made, in my estimation, some of the most profound, thought-provoking, and entertaining films in the history of cinema. They are, in no particular order:

 

1. Francis Ford Coppola (The Godfather trilogy)
2. Elia Kazan (On the Waterfront)
3. Sidney Lumet (Network)
4. Stanley Kubrick (A Clockwork Orange)
5. John Cassavetes (A Woman Under the Influence)
6. Vittorio De Sica (Umberto D.)
7. Charles Chaplin (Limelight)
8. Ingmar Bergman (Scenes from A Marriage)
      my blog’s name is in homage to him so he better be on this list!
9. Woody Allen (Crimes and Misdemeanors)
10. David Lynch (Blue Velvet)
11. Joel and Ethan Coen (Barton Fink)
12. Martin Scorsese (Raging Bull)
13. Oliver Stone (JFK)
14. Billy Wilder (Witness for the Prosecution)
15. Clint Eastwood (Unforgiven)

And now to do some tagging of my own (pinky finger to my lips accompanied by a deep, menacing laugh). I will try and select some of my favorite film bloggers who I don’t think have participated just yet. All awesome blogs that I frequent quite often. Time to give these thoughtful film gurus some homework…Plus, I’d love to see what directors are on their personal lists.
25 Responses to 15 Directors Meme

  1. rorydean says:

    Hey Peter, great list indeed – some very obvious contenders for my list (which I’m going to set aside, ponder, and write up later – thanks for the inspiration). I don’t think anyone could argue much with your choices and it is nice to see that you haven’t just included filmmakers of the last twenty years.

    cheers->

    • Thanks for the compliments. Greatly appreciated. I tried to put as many as I could from all eras of film. Some names I have seen on most lists, but had to stick to the filmmakers who I have admired for some time now.

  2. Pingback: Gimme 5: Clint Favorites! « Magic Lantern Film Blog

  3. Richard says:

    Great list, Peter. We may just share a few. Thanks for the tag. I’ve been away for two weeks, but now I’ll get on it and prepare my own. 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    No Spielberg, Cameron, Scott, Tarantino, or David Fincher? Wow. Though kudos to your addition of Kubrick and Scorsese.

  5. Tarantino and Soderbergh would have to be on my list if I made one that is

  6. Dan says:

    Excellent choices there Peter!

  7. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    13 HANDS DOWN!

  8. Corey says:

    Thanks for the tag, Peter. And great list, too…..many of my favorites are included there. This is just what I needed to cheer me up after your Yankees beat my Twins in game 1. Hopefully game 2 will be a different story…

  9. rtm says:

    Ahahahaha… add to the list of folks who make fun of my affinity for GeraRd Butler 😀 Thank you for tagging me, Peter… always nice to be given a topic to blog about and this is a good one indeed!

    Great list, btw, I knew you’d have Woody in there somewhere.

  10. John says:

    That’s a damned good list there- good job!. Mine would have looked quite a bit different but each one of your choices is a really well thought out selection.

    I’d have a hard time leaving out Scorsese, Truffaut, Malle (I know I’m in the minority there), and Buñuel. And… in the most clichéd disagreement ever, it’d be Keaton instead of Chaplin.

    • I thought of Truffaut and would surely be in my Top 15. 400 Blows is one of my favs as well as Shoot the Piano Player. I have been a Chaplin lover for years, so I am biased there. I have seen a few of Keaton’s works, but I must admit that I am not nearly as schooled on him as I am on Chaplin. Thanks for the thoughtful comment!

  11. Marc says:

    Damn it Peter, just when I thought all the memes had died down, like chain mail it comes back again. Well at least his will be more fun to read than something like “Bill Gates will to give me a million dollars if I send this to 21 of my friends”:P

    Glad to be a part of this. Thanks!!

    • Yeah, this is a relatively simple one — and I had fun coming up with the list. I should spend more time on directors than I have been. Excited to see your own list — and I will always tag you if it’s not an annoying Meme that takes up too much time.

Leave a Reply

