Gimme 5: Dream Dinner Invites!

After a one-week hiatus, the “Gimme 5” is back & ready for your feedback! Reminiscent of the IFC program “Dinner for Five” (hosted by Jon Favreau) where celebrities sat around eating, drinking and sharing their stories about projects past and present, I thought it would be a fun and interesting question to ask you — who is your dream guest list if you had the choice of having five Hollywood celebrities over to eat, drink and be merry with. The artists can be dead or alive. Ideally, they should be five people you consider fascinating and would want to spend an evening with.

So…Who Is Coming To Dinner???

GIMME 5: DREAM DINNER INVITES!!!

Here Is My Guest List…

#1. Marlon Brando
(not only my all-time favorite actor, but a fascinating & complex human being. I loved hearing him speak)
#2. Jackie Gleason
(he would probably drink everyone under the table, but he has always been one of my heroes…and oh, so talented)
#3. Charles Chaplin
(I don’t think he & Brando would speak to one another, but he is one of the handful of geniuses in the history of cinema)
#4. John Cassavetes
(A true maverick and the father of independent film; I could listen to him for hours)
#5. Woody Allen
(my only invitee still living; I would have SO MANY questions to ask!!!)

Now It’s YOUR Turn!!!

59 Responses to Gimme 5: Dream Dinner Invites!

  1. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    I TOTALLY AGREE THAT MOVIE WAS OK AND DARK AND SAD BUT THE DESCRIPTION OF SOUL MATE WAS THEY WAY I WOULD DESCRIBE IT AND COULDNT FIND THE WORDS AS THE MOVIE DID. TY!

  2. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    MR PETER I GOT TO ASK YOU THIS….DID U SEE THE MOVIE “THE GREATEST” BEST DESCRIPTION BY ANYONE OF WHAT A SOULMATE REALLY IS! I LOVED THIS MOVIE!

  3. Richard says:

    Classic question, Peter.

    Steven Spielberg
    John Cusack
    Alfred Hitchcock
    Jodie Foster
    Stephen Fry

  4. Heather says:

    Oh, I’m absolutely in love with this post! Your picks of Brando and Chaplin speaks to my heart. This is particularly difficult but I think I can do it.

    1. David Bowie
    2. Michael Crichton
    3. Natalie Wood
    4. Sigourney Weaver
    5. Hunter S. Thompson

    and a runner up to Tarantino

  5. Red says:

    1. Marion Cotillard (obviously)
    2. Peter Jackson
    3. Sophia Loren
    4. Stanley Tucci
    5. Paul Rudd

    Odd combination, but I would be fascinated to say the least.

  6. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    robert duvall!!

  7. rtm says:

    Oooh, this is a good one. My first reaction is to go with all the hot guys, but they might not make good companies for conversation 😀

    Ok, here goes:
    #1 Timothy Dalton
    #2 Cate Blanchett
    #3 Charlton Heston
    #4 Audrey Hepburn
    #5 Christopher Nolan

    If I could invite more guests I’d add Gerry Butler into the mix, not only ’cause he’s hot, but the guy is witty and funny, he’ll liven up any dinner conversation 😉

  8. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    PEE WEE HERMAN
    PEREZ HILTON
    MICKEY ROURKE
    JON HAMM
    JON HAMM
    JON HAMM

  9. Raul Duke says:

    C’mon Maggie. WHat Nora do to you? There is enough Peter to go around.

    • Nora says:

      HAHAHA!! No Nora? Maggie dear, have I offended you in some way? Do we need to amp the dosage?

      • I deleted the comment, but obviously you read it already. All happy friends here on the Lantern and I deleted only because I don’t want any hating going on. Say what you want about me and movies in general – just no bad-mouthing readers of the site. PEACE!!!

  10. Simon/Ripley says:

    And, I forgot, Katharine Hepburn.

  11. Simon/Ripley says:

    Hunter S. Thompsan
    Franz Kafka (sure, he’d bring down the party, but he’d be awesome doing it)
    John Cassavettes (stop hogging all the directors)
    Iggy Pop
    David Bowie

    (and Morgan Freeman)

  12. Nora says:

    Groucho Marx
    Walt Disney
    Audrey Hepburn
    Quentin Tarantino
    Ricky Gervais

  13. Corey says:

    This is probably my favorite “Gimme 5” so far.

    1. Stanley Kubrick
    2. Peter Sellers
    3. Larry David
    4. George Carlin
    5. Tom Waits

    • A very intriguing dinner, Corey. Great guests! Peter Sellers is a fascinating addition. I was up in the air on Kubrick. He’d be in my Top 10 for sure. Carlin is one of the Top 3 comedians of all-time, in my opinion. Awesome 5, buddy…

  14. Amy Wood says:

    1. Tim Curry-He is intelligent, funny, and the accent turns me on. Added bonus is he has a nice creepy factor that can be tossed out if one of the other guests gets out of line.
    2. Audrey Hepburn-beautiful, smart, and amazing humanitarian.
    3. Drew Barrymore- she is smokin hot and quirky. I would love to get her take on life and how she overcame having a famous and twisted family.
    4. Rodney Dangerfield-hilarious and always the life of the party.
    5. Sarah Jessica Parker-because if the party bombs it is always good to have a horse. Horse rides make everyone happy!

    • Oh, Amy, you are awesome! I cannot stand looking at Sarah Jessica and have always debated whether she looks more like a horse or a shoe. Great addition to your roundtable. Love me some Hepburn. You get a big minus for adding Drew though….big minus!!! 🙂

  15. Tracey says:

    this list easily could have been “Gimme 25″…

    1. Robert Duvall
    2. Young Brando (shirtless)
    3. Christopher Walken
    4. Jeff Bridges (and I would need to touch his hair)
    5. Paul Newman

    • A very interesting mix here. I was debating Newman myself, but my guys are so dour and ornery that Mr. Newman would feel somewhat uncomfortable. I’d like Walken too, if only to ask why he’s decided to be in such lousy films over the past 10-15 years (Balls of Fury….really???)

  16. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    ID WANT TO MEET PETER ERAMO AND SEE WHAT HIS GAME IS? LOL

  17. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    I DONT KNOW IF I SHOULD BE GLAD THAT YOURE OK HAHAHAHA! THANK YOU RAUL…..

  18. Raul Duke says:

    You had some great picks Peter. 4 of 5 at least.

  19. Raul Duke says:

    This is a good one Peter!

    1) Eva Mendez
    2) Marisa Tomei
    3) Ashley Judd
    4) Rita Hayworth
    5) Michael Moore. So I can poison that stupid bastard.

  20. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    I AGREE WITH ALL BUT WOODDY ALLEN. TOO WEIRD AND UGLY 4 ME!

  21. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    Only you would believe this post. Before i clicked on this i knew Guess whos coming to dinner would be on here. LOL OMG…I FREAKKIN KNEW IT!

Leave a Reply

