Weekend Humor: “The Shining” as a Rom-Com???

Oh, my God…when I saw this, I could not help feeling that the legendary Stanley Kubrick was turning over in his grave!!! I think his 1980 adaptation of Stephen King’s novel, The Shining remains one of the scariest movies ever made — and I think many would agree with this (except, of course, Mr. King). Those twin girls, Grady the butler, that wicked woman in room 237, the eerie bartender, and of course, a demented Jack chasing his lovely wife up the stairs with a baseball bat…it all makes for a terrific horror movie, right?

Now, how many of you have watched this frightening film and wondered, “Hmm…this would have made an even better romantic comedy”? Most all of you, am I right? Well, here is a trailer to give you a good idea of what The Shining would have been like as a traditional rom-com. It is great stuff — and very, very funny. The use of music here (especially the Peter Gabriel track) is very clever, the editing is nicely done and the narration hits the mark as far as capturing the lame/trite goofiness that often accompanies these type of films.

Thanks so much to Nora who was sweet enough to send this my way!!!

14 Responses to Weekend Humor: “The Shining” as a Rom-Com???

  1. Steve says:

    I so totally love this video. There have been many who’ve tried to duplicate this effect, but none have succeeded. The closest is perhaps the “Fight Club” Ferris Bueller trailer:

  2. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    Dont worry Peter as long as im around Katherine heigl wont mess with you.!

  3. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    @will silver you msut be easily amused:) lol

  4. CMrok93 says:

    I can’t lie but I think this is sooo sooo funny! It works, with its editing, and the cheesy Peter Gabriel song. It all works so well, kind of like Titanic 2: Jack’s Back.

  5. Lizzy says:

    i like it better as a romance 🙂 very cool

  6. Will Silver says:

    Hahahaha, I remember my friend showing me this a few years ago. One of my favorite videos ever! When Solsbury Hill comes in, I can’t contain my laughter.

  7. MAGGIE SIMI says:

    This topped them all:))

Leave a Reply

