Gimme 5: Awesome Sports Flicks!

Ah, yes! You can smell it in the air…that special time of year has come and the new NFL Football season is finally upon us, with last night’s Saints/Vikings game (God, I hate Brett Favre) kicking off the festivities! I know a few weeks ago I came up with my own Top 15 list of what I consider to be the greatest sports films ever made (click here to see the Almighty list) — but what I failed to do was get YOUR opinions on what your favorites are, as there are certainly many to pick from. Two things in life I have great passion for — movies and sports. It’s great when the two are put together to make an extraordinary, inspiring film — and this week, I’d like you to GIMME 5 of Your Favorite Sports Flicks! No surprises with my Top 5, as I will simply stick with the five I chose for my earlier list…this one is all about you and I wanted to time it right with the new football season! So huddle up, put your gear on, and…

GIMME 5 AWESOME SPORTS MOVIES!!!

Here are my Top 5:

#1. Rocky (1976)
(the quintessential underdog film. Totally inspiring!)
#2. Raging Bull (1980)
(DeNiro at his best; masterfully shot; a tremendous character exploration)
#3. Hoop Dreams (1994)
(powerful & genuine moments from 5+ yrs of footage – a cinematic triumph!)
#4. Field of Dreams (1989)
(A father & son reconcile, elements of fantasy, & the purity of the game of baseball…a magical film)
#5. The Natural (1984)
(I love Roy Hobbs & his story is one that makes you cheer throughout!)

Hoosiers could very easily be in my Top 5 as well. Love that movie!!!

Now It’s YOUR Turn!!!

40 Responses to Gimme 5: Awesome Sports Flicks!

  1. Marc says:

    It’s weird, I hate baseball but I own more baseball films than any other sport. That said, here’s my 5:

    Little Big League
    Any Given Sunday
    A League of Their Own (surprised at the love for this one here actually)
    Major League
    For Love of the Game

    Honorable Mention:
    The Mean Machine
    North Dallas Forty

    • How do you hate baseball??? There is no hating of baseball!!! 🙂 You sure like baseball movies though, I see. I love Major League – so funny. I could never get into League of their Own and wanted very much to like For LOve of the Game, but just couldn’t. Any Given Sunday rocks!

  2. Heather says:

    5. A League Of Their Own
    4. Without Limits
    3. Sandlot
    2. Brian’s Song
    1. Major League

  3. Joel Burman says:

    Hoop Dreams
    Any Given Sunday
    Rocky
    A league of their own
    Field of dreams

  4. balls says:

    I always liked Any Given Sunday

  5. Tara says:

    A League of Their Own
    Rudy
    Field of Dreams
    Remember the Titans
    Jerry Maguire

  6. rtm says:

    Hi Peter! No love for Favre?? I have to take offense as I’m from MN 🙂

    I don’t watch too many sports movies, but of the ones I’ve seen, I like:
    – Jerry McGuire
    – Rudy
    – Chariots of Fire
    – Bend it like Beckham
    – The Flying Scotsman

    • You should hate Favre — he’s a Green Bay Packer at heart and was a Vikings killer for years! I like Jerry Maguire a lot. Never saw The Flying Scotsman. I never got into Rudy, but a lot of people seem to love it!

  7. Castor says:

    Yes! Great job highlighting Hoops Dream, a documentary that everyone should see…

    5. White Men Can’t Jump
    4. Rudy
    3. Brian’s Song
    2. Raging Bull
    1. Hoop Dreams

  8. Tracey says:

    1. The Italian Stallion
    2. The Natural
    3. The Champ (1979)
    4. The Karate Kid
    5. Slap Shot

  9. Richard says:

    I love these Gimme 5’s!

    1. The Damned United
    2. Field of Dreams
    3. Raging Bull
    4. Slap Shot
    5. Escape to Victory

    • Thank you, Richard! They are kind of fun and I like seeing everyone’s taste in various genres. I must say that I have never seen the Damned United, though I do like Colm Meaney and Michael Sheen very much. Nice flicks here!!!

  10. Jules DelGado says:

    Peter,
    how did you restrain yourself? They played tennis in Annie Hall and it’s not on this list???

  11. Donna says:

    remember the titans
    the replacements
    61
    a league of their own (sorry peter! not for rosie-she sucks! i love tom hanks in this!)
    major league

  12. Nora says:

    Raging Bull
    Rocky
    A Day at the Races/Horse Feathers
    Jerry Maguire
    Field of Dreams

  13. Raul Duke says:

    Oh Peter only 5 is very tuff!

    1) Rocky/Raging Bull Tied. I could not make a choice here
    2) Bull Durham
    3) Remember the Titans
    4) Pride of the Yankees
    5) Slap Shot

Leave a Reply

