31-Day Movie Meme: by Peter Eramo

I see that all of my fellow film bloggers have been participating in the 31-Day Movie Meme, and it looked too fun NOT to participate, so I came up with my own responses to the “lightning-round” type questions being posed. Readers of this site might see some repeat answers, but if it’s a film favorite, I have to be consistent. I have no idea who started this particular Meme, but it’s been very entertaining reading everyone’s answers to the prompted questions thus far. I still have no idea what a “meme” is, but the ones I have taken part in have been quite enjoyable. Anyway, here are my own responses, for better or for worse:  

1. A Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made:

Caddyshack 2 (was this truly necessary? A disastrous follow-up to a comedic classic.)  

2. A Movie More People Should See:

I think everyone should see the documentary, Young @ Heart. Absolutely uplifting and inspiring. You laugh one minute and cry the next.  

3. Favorite Oscar-Nominated Film from the Most Recent Ballot:

District 9 (For my money, the best film of 2009.)  

4. A Movie That Makes Me Laugh Every Time:

Arthur (Russell Brand will never come close to measuring up to the brilliance of Dudley Moore…and frankly, it is sad that he is even trying.)    

         

 

 

5. A Movie I Loathe:

Donnie Darko (a film for teenagers and college students who think that, by saying they love this film, it makes them intellectual and profound human beings. It’s junk people.)    

6. A Movie That Makes Me Cry Every Time:

The hospital scene in She’s Having A Baby, played to the sensational Kate Bush track, “This Woman’s Work.” Kevin Bacon is spectacular here and the beautifully edited montage of moments between husband and wife is gut-wrenching. Perhaps every husband’s nightmare, leaving him crippled and feeling helpless.
     

7. Least Favorite Movie by a Favorite Actor:

My favorite actor without question is Marlon Brando. Except for the hefty paycheck, I’m still not sure why he ever stepped near The Island of Dr. Moreau.    

8. Movie That Should Be Required High School Viewing:

As long as a proper lesson unit is created, with in-depth follow-up discussion, I think Edward Zwick’s Glory is a fine choice.    

 
     

9. Best Scene Ever:

The juxtaposing scenes in The Godfather, where Michael Corleone’s (Al Pacino) men are assassinating the heads of the five families as he stands in church, godfather to his nephew, renouncing Satan.    

10. A Movie I Never Expected to Like, but Ended Up Loving:

Fantastic Mr. Fox, the first Wes Anderson film I actually enjoyed.    

     

 

11. A Movie That Disappointed You:

I love Oliver Stone’s work, but was severely let down by W.    

12. Best Music Used in a Scene:

The way that Elton John’s “Tiny Dancer” is incorporated into the bus scene in Cameron Crowe’s amazing Almost Famous is sheer brilliance — very moving and cathartic.   

13. Favorite Animated Movie:

There are so many great films to pick from, but I think Brad Bird’s The Iron Giant (1999) has to be my favorite.     

     

     

14. Favorite Black & White Film:

I’ll stick with earlier films here. A toss-up between The Bicycle Thief and Charlie Chaplin’s Limelight.    

15. Best Musical:

Alan Parker’s The Commitments is a sensational achievement with a phenomenal soundtrack.     

16. Favorite Guilty Pleasure Movie:

Serendipity (it’s friggin’ adorable…what can I tell ya?! Right Tara???)    

17. Favorite Series of Related Movies:

The Godfather Trilogy (what is the debate here?)    

18. Favorite Title Sequence:

I think the opening sequence of Oliver Stone’s Natural Born Killers is brilliantly shot and cleverly edited. It surely sets you up for what you’re in for during the next two hours — a masterpiece of a film that is one of the decade’s very best films.    

19. Best Movie Cast:

Al Pacino, Jack Lemmon, Alan, Arkin, Jonathan Pryce, Ed Harris, Alec Baldwin, and Kevin Spacey all shine in Glengarry Glen Ross. Everyone on top of their game and they speak the words of David Mamet like pure poetry.    

20. Favorite Screen Kiss:

You know all the anxiety and over-thinking that we go through before our first kiss with someone? Alvy Singer has come up with a working  solution to this problem.  Alvy and Annie are on their very first date. He is going to watch her sing at a small NYC club and later they’ll grab a bite to eat. Here is the classic exchange in Woody Allen’s Annie Hall:    

      

Alvy: Hey listen, gimme a kiss.
Annie: Really?
Alvy: Yeah, why not, because we’re just gonna go home later, right, and then there’s gonna be all that tension, we’ve never kissed before and I’ll never know when to make the right move or anything. So we’ll kiss now and get it over with, and then we’ll go eat. We’ll digest our food better.    

And they kiss. It’s nothing glorious; just a quick kiss on the lips…and relieves all the tension.    

21. Favorite Romantic Couple:

I am always touched by the purest form of love that is felt between Adrian (Talia Shire) and Rocky Balboa (Sylvester Stallone) — throughout the entire Rocky series (Adrian’s presence is overwhelming even in her absence in the final film).    

22. Favorite Final Line:

Phil Alden Robinson’s Field of Dreams…    

Ray Kinsella: Hey Dad, you wanna have a catch?
Ray’s Father:  I’d like that. 

23. Best Action Sequence/Scene: 

“If I say it’s safe to surf this beach, Captain, it’s safe to surf this beach!”

The brilliant helicopter attack in Francis Ford Coppola’s masterpiece, Apocalypse Now.    

24. Film Quote I Use Most Often:  

In A Bronx Tale, Lorenzo Anello (Robert DeNiro) tells his young son: “The saddest thing in life is wasted talent.” It’s always stuck with me.   

25. A Movie I Plan on Watching:  

I have so many in my rental queue….I’ll just go with the newly released Red Riding Trilogy…looks awesome!    

26. Freakishly Weird Movie Ending: 

Since everyone is going with Mulholland Drive, I will choose The Rapture (one of the very best film endings I have ever seen…I distinctly remember not moving a muscle in the theatre as the end credits simply rolled with no musical accompaniment)    

27. Best Villain:

I will stick with who I believe to be the geatest screen villain, Amon Goeth in Schindler’s List.    

28. Most Over-Hyped Movie:

Did I hear something about an upcoming Avengers movie? Does anyone really think this will live up to the hype? (I could have easily went with Inception here too.)    

29. A Movie Seen More Than Ten Times: Annie Hall (DUH!!!)

30. Saddest Character Death: 

Selma (Bjork) in Lars von Trier’s depressing and magnificent Dancer in the Dark. At the end, she is strapped to a board and carried to the gallows after being convicted of murder she did not intentionally commit. She is hooded, and screams in panic, “I can’t breathe!” as the noose is being drawn around her neck. When she finally accepts her death, and, while waiting for the floor to fall out from under her, she begins to smile and sing. Haunting and terribly moving.   

31. Movie That Made Me Stand Up and Cheer: Remember the Titans

22 Responses to 31-Day Movie Meme: by Peter Eramo

  1. filmgeek says:

    I’ve actually not seen very many of the films that are on this list but I am loving the recognition for Annie Hall, Almost Famous, Natural Born Killers and The Bicycle Thief. I’ve been meaning to see District 9 and Fantastic Mr Fox for a while now and thanks to you I’ve just bumped them up my list 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    Your love for Annie Hall is amazing, and is a constant reminder that I need to see it, but this week I’ve already tried Unforgiven and Citizen Kane, so I’m moving up on my must sees!

    I like that you did this all as one post, although it’s a lot of information to take in at once. Greatest action sequence easily goes to Omaha beach to me in SPR, even though I believe you aren’t a big fan of that flick.

    And fantastical best scene ever!

    • The ones I have read on other sites have had all 31 listed as one post. I haven’t seen any others doing one question per day. So i hope I didn’t overstep my boundaries, I just saw others doing it this way and followed suit.
      I know, my love for Annie Hall can in some ways be seen as commendable — or just downright sad, however one plans to look on it. I just adore it. Now I have built it up too much and you won’t care for it. And you are correct, I may be the only person I know who didn’t very much care for SPR….

  3. Tara says:

    16. Favorite Guilty Pleasure Movie:
    Serendipity (it’s friggin’ adorable…what can I tell ya?! Right Tara???)

    YES, OF COURSE!!! TERRIFIC MOVIE! But I still have a list of others I think you should watch!
    😉

  4. rtm says:

    This is fun, I just read another 31-day movie meme over at Richard’s blog! Hey, I love Serendipity too, one of those rare rom-coms that are pretty decent. Oh that Amon Goeth, he just gets under my skin he’s so evil! Ralph Fiennes must get nightmares playing him. One of my girlfriends LOVE Adrian and Rocky, I actually played Adrian in an ESL school skit and my Rocky is a tall Swiss guy! 🙂 I have Red Riding trilogy on my queue too, can’t wait to see those.

  5. CMrok93 says:

    Great list! Especially with favorite romantic couple. They are such an underrated couple in all of their movies, because it’s considered a sports movie, but their chemistry seems real, and that’s why it works.

    • agreed. Rocky and Adrian are perfect together and often overlooked. I was gonna go with Hepburn and Tracy or something like that, but I have more of an emotional attachment to this pairing.

  6. mcarteratthemovies says:

    You’re so right on No. 20 — I feel like people forget sometimes that “Annie Hall” is a romantic comedy because it’s so smart and real!

    • good point. I honestly tried thinking of a better film kiss…this to me was so original and spoke to the entire reality of the situation. Something Woody doesn’t get enough credit for….

  7. Raul Duke says:

    Yet another list designed to include Annie Hall… Does it ever end?

  8. Castor says:

    I can’t believe you hate Donnie Darko, what has it done to you? And Serendipity AHAHAHAH! I’m kidding, it was sort of adorable the first I watched it 😉 And we all knew you were going to go with Annie Hall a few times there.

    • Hahaha. I think it’s hilarious how just about every film blogger knows of my affinity for Annie Hall. Very funny. Donnie Darko robbed me of my precious time. It was the Brown Bunny of fantasy/sci-fi flicks. It is one of the few abominations I have every witnessed. But yes…Serendipity is AWESOME!!! 🙂

    • Heather says:

      I can definitely see Donnie Darko not being on anyones lists of likes. I personally dig it, but it is certainly a movie of taste.

  9. Dan says:

    Some great choices there Peter. I like the love for the Godfather films, and great to see She’s Having a Baby mentioned as it doesn’t get talked about much these days. Your choice for No. 31 would probably be mine also, I love Remember The Titans (it might sneak onto my movie that makes you cry too).

    BUT…Serendipity…NOOOOoooo! Can’t stand it. I’ve tried to watch it. My better half likes it a lot, but I can’t get into it.

    • that’s why she’s your “better half.” HA! I can’t help it – I know it’s bad…but I love it! I couldn’t think of one for #31 except sports-like films and didn’t wanna go with Rocky again. Remember the Titans is a very good film that makes you want to cheer, so I went with that.

  10. Mad Hatter says:

    Holy Crow – there are so many answers in here that i totally agree with, almost makes me wonder if we were separated at birth!

Leave a Reply

