Gimme 5: Favorite Spielberg Movies!

Yesterday, I did a write-up on Steven Spielberg’s 2005 film, Munich, which I consider to be his most daring, most mature work to date. But that’s just me. Part of the reason I started this website is to have a dialogue with other movie lovers, getting your thoughts and opinions on the world of movies. So piggy-backing on yesterday’s post, I thought it would interesting to see what your favorite Spielberg films are. Next year will be his 40th year making feature-length films and though he seems to have done it all, I tend to dismiss him when I am speaking of our most accomplished directors. I really shouldn’t considering his tremendous canon of work…from worldwide special effects blockbusters such as Jurassic Park to the more intimate, “smaller” films like The Color Purple, he has done it all and his films will be remembered for as long as there are movies. If you need to refresh your memory on his extensive resume, just click here for his IMDb page and take a peek. You want to choose a film that he produced, that’s fine too…it’s up to you. Just join in, that’s all I ask! 

‘GIMME 5’ of Your Favorite Spielberg Movies!!!

Here’s My 5:

#1. Munich (click here for my reasoning)
#2. Schindler’s List
(I think I can watch this anytime – a colossal achievement)
#3. Raiders of the Lost Ark
(I still remember coming home from that movie at age 10, mesmerized)
#4. E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial
(Come on…who doesn’t love this film???)
#5. The Terminal
(I absolutely adore this little movie. And Tom Hanks rocks in it!)

Now It’s YOUR Turn!!!

42 Responses to Gimme 5: Favorite Spielberg Movies!

  1. Pingback: Switchblade Symphony – Gutter Glitter | Roofing Spartanburg Best

  2. Novroz says:

    Mine will be
    1. Saving Private Ryan
    2. Raiders of the lost ark
    3. Back to the future
    4. Jaws
    5. Terminal

    I’m not 100% sure about back to the future, I remember Spielberg is in it, don’t remember is he the director or producer.

    • Zemeckis directed, but Spielberg had a part in the production, yes. Everyone loves Saving private Ryan – I was never crazy about it. Must be me! Jaws and Raiders are two classics! Nice choices. And thank you for sharing!!!

      • Novroz says:

        The reason I like SPR is because I love that amazing effect on the death soldiers. I have a thing for movies with great blood effect 🙂 and the story is great…its not the kind of war movie Hollywood used to make. I don’t like war movies but SPR is an exception

  3. Joel Burman says:

    1.Duel
    2.Jurassic Park
    3.Raiders of the Lost Arc
    4.Crusade of the holy grail
    5.Jaws

  4. rtm says:

    I almost have the same list as yours, Peter, but if I’m rating it based on entertainment value sake, Raiders would be at the top. I might swap The Terminal with Jurassic Park, those T-Rex are like Jaws of the jungle 🙂

    • haha…Understood. I don’t think many love The Terminal, but I find it vastly underrated. Jurassic is so well done, but it’s not really the kind of thing I get into very much…

      • rtm says:

        OH don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed The Terminal and it is a great movie. I guess I’m just a sucker for action stuff and I LOVE the score of JP by John Williams, I think I like that more than the movie itself.

  5. Nora says:

    1. Jurassic Park
    2. Schindler’s List
    3. Hook
    4. The Color Purple
    5. Saving Private Ryan

  6. Richard says:

    Good one!

    1) Raiders of the Lost Ark
    2) Jaws
    3) Schindler’s List
    4) Close Encounters of the Third Kind
    5) Munich

    • Thank you, Richard. Thought it was fitting after my Munich posting, which, by the way I am glad to see is in your 5!!! 🙂 All five are terrific in my opinion. No beefs here.

  7. Tracey says:

    The Goonies!
    E.T.
    Jaws
    Close Encounters
    Raiders of the Lost Ark

  8. Heather says:

    I’m not going to even try putting these in order. Narrowing it to five was harrowing.

    1. Jurassic Park
    2. Raiders Of The Lost Ark
    3. Saving Private Ryan
    4. Schindler’s List
    5. Empire Of The Sun

    Honorable Mentions to Jaws and Duel

    I love your include of Munich. I watched it this past year and it was an incredible film. I don’t know that I can revisit it again for a very long time but the performances and the impeccable detail it was constructed with was a very compelling and mind boggling flick.

    I didn’t enjoy The Terminal much, and I may be one of the only people that didn’t like E.T.

    • Chase Kahn says:

      I don’t exactly dislike “E.T.” but it would struggle to make my Top 10 Spielberg movies. I’m not a big fan, either.

    • Yes, five is very tough. I like the challenge of it. Thanks for the Munich love. Raiders, Schindler and Empire I absolutely love. Never was able to get into Saving private Ryan. And how do you not like ET???? Do you have no heart??? 😉

      • Heather says:

        Someone once told me if Field Of Dreams didn’t make me cry I had no soul.

        Soooooo no soul on this end, no heart, and who knows what else!?!?!

        I am ashamed I forgot The Color Purple. I might interchange SPR or Schindler’s List in order to add that though.

        • Heather says:

          And Munich seriously wowed me. It stuck with me long after I finished watching it, and while I won’t watch it again for a very long time, it won’t be one I forget.

          It should have won best picture that year. I went on Ross v Ross and argued it.

  9. kaymayer says:

    In no particular order:
    1. Hook
    2. Jurassic Park
    3. Schindler’s List
    4. ET
    5. Saving Private Ryan

    I have seen Munich but I believe all of these movies are better. I think more so for the nostalgia portion of it rather than the true art form of creating it.

    • Nostalgia has a lot to do with how much we like certain films, so I see what you are saying. Hook was cute fun…Schindler’s List is phenomenal. Gotta have ET in there too…nice job Kayla!

  10. Corey says:

    Sorry, but I did not care for The Terminal….I can’t argue with the rest of your choices though.

    1. Schindler’s List
    2. Close Encounters of the Third Kind
    3. Jaws
    4. Minority Report
    5. Jurassic Park (my favorite movie when I was a kid, so I had to include it on this list haha)

    • Thanks, Corey. I can’t help it – I was so pleasantly surprised with The Terminal. Thought it was excellent. A solid Top 5 on your part, though I never really got much into the Jurassic films…

      • Mad Hatter says:

        I’ve always wondered why there’s such a hate-on for

        • Mad Hatter says:

          (Sorry – itchy trigger finger)

          I’ve always wondered why there is such a hate-on for THE TERMINAL. I mean it’s not amazing (especially by Spielberg standards), but it’s still a good film. Maybe it’s Hanks’ accent.

          • clairepacker says:

            I really enjoyed The Terminal. I rented it on DVD and then bought it soon after. It’s an endearing film and Tom Hanks is wonderful in it. It’s quite an original story and I love how you can see Viktor’s development throughout the film.

            (Ps, great list Peter though Jaws and Jurassic Park would have to go on my list too)

      • Corey says:

        I may need to watch The Terminal again….I saw it once in the theatre and just really couldn’t get into it. As for the Jurassic Park movies, I hated the sequels but when the first one came out, I was obsessed with it. I was 10 at the time, so I suppose I have an excuse.

    • Heather says:

      Minority Report is probably one of the best recent films he’s done, but then again most of his work is exceptional.

      • Corey says:

        Yeah, Minority Report is probably my favorite Spielberg film made within the last 10 years. It’s also one of Tom Cruise’s better performances, in my opinion.

  11. Castor says:

    1 Saving Private Ryan
    2 Raiders of the Lost Ark
    3.Empire of the Sun
    4. Jaws
    5. ET

  12. Chase Kahn says:

    Okay…

    1) Close Encounters of the Third Kind
    2) Jaws
    3) Duel
    4) Minority Report
    5) Empire of the Sun

  13. Mad Hatter says:

    My favorites…

    1. SAVING PRIVATE RYAN
    2. RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK
    3. CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE THIRD KIND
    4. JAWS
    5. E.T.

    (Call me a traditionalist, but they’re the ones I keep coming back to)

    • I had such problems with SPR…I could never get into it, though it was beautifully made. I tried 2x and wasn’t crazy about it at all. Love the other 4 here….No Schindler?

      • Mad Hatter says:

        RYAN sits above SCHINDLER for me because of impact. I will never forget seeing it opening weekend and just feeling shelled by what I watched. Everything about the film is designed to rock you on a big screen…and it did indeed rock me, probably the first movie to ever do that to me.

        As well-versed as I am with it, I’ll finally be seeing SCHINDLER on a big screen this fall.

  14. Raul Duke says:

    1) Jaws
    2) Saving Private Ryan
    3) Amistad
    4) Schlindlers List
    5) Catch me if you can.

Leave a Reply

