Results: Forrest vs. Shawshank Poll!!!

Boy, this one was a terribly close one. I am surprised by how tight this race actually was. Why I chose to conduct this particular poll? Again, me and my (now) brother-in-law have been having this friendly debate over the past few years. He swears by “Gump,” which I think is a fine film, but does not compare to Darabont’s “Shawshank” (if I do say so myself). I told him I would put it to the test and have readers of this blog vote for the film they like more. And the voters have spoken!

By one single vote, The Shawshank Redemption eked by Forrest Gump for the win!!!

Thank you to everyone who voted — as always, it is greatly appreciated.

                                               

                52%                                                     48%

8 Responses to Results: Forrest vs. Shawshank Poll!!!

  1. Jules DelGado says:

    Can win the poll if you go Full Retard…

  2. CMrok93 says:

    I didn’t know why this one was so close! I know plenty of people that just hate Gump because it beat Shawshank for the Best Picture. Still, Pulp Fiction should have won. OK I’m done!

  3. Heather says:

    Frankly I’m shocked it was so close. There are a lot of Gump haters, and even fans felt like Oscar got it very wrong that year giving it best picture. I liked both films, and definitely prefer a re-watch of Gump, but Shawshank is certainly the superior flick.

  4. Olive says:

    Thank goodness Shawshank pipped it to the post.

  5. kaymayer says:

    I too was a voter of Shawshank and believe it is a better film than Gump. I’ve seen both movies, and when the Oscars pulled around I was convinced it was going to grab Best Picture. But it didn’t, Gump did. I suppose it might be because I’m young and didn’t connect to it on a personal level like those on the panel of the Academy Awards. It may have been more nostalgic to them rather than a movie about prison.

    • Gump is a good film, for sure….I think it has much more appeal than Shawshank and it is a film that a whole family can sit, watch and enjoy. Hanks is wonderful and it is sure to be an American classic, but in my mind, Shawshank is the much better movie. Hell, I think Quiz Show (out the same year) is better than Gump. Glad the readers have spoken!!!

Leave a Reply

