Gimme 5: Five Movies That Scare the Crap Outta You!

HAPPY 4TH OF JULY WEEKEND TO EVERYONE!!! Sorry for not posting any new material the past 2 days. I’d like to be able to tell you that I’ve just been oh-so busy, but the truth is I’ve just been slacking off and feeling extremely lazy with this oppressive heat. Perhaps some great feedback from all of you in this week’s “Gimme 5!” segment will re-energize me!!! Anyway, I was going to go with a patriotic theme to commemorate the holiday weekend, but went in a completely different direction instead.

I will admit that the horror movie genre isn’t one of my favorites (perhaps because there has been such a dearth of quality horror movies in recent years), but I certainly do enjoy a good scary flick.  So for this week’s “Gimme 5” I am asking you to Gimme 5 Movies That Scared the Shit Out of You! I am looking forward to all of your responses because chances are I haven’t seen many of them & will put it straight into my rental queue.

So — What are 5 Movies That Scared The Crap Out of You?

I will start:

1.  The Shining (those twins still freak me out!)
2. The Little Girl Who Lives Down the Lane (the 1st movie to give me nightmares as a kid)
3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974 — the graininess of it just makes it scarier)
4. The Mist (phenomenal flick with a superb ending – also scary as hell)
5. Jaws (always thought the great white was in my backyard pool)

Now, it’s YOUR Turn!!! Let me hear it movie-lovers!!!

53 Responses to Gimme 5: Five Movies That Scare the Crap Outta You!

  1. Anonymous says:

    1. Blair witch Project
    2. Grudge 2
    3. Omen
    4. Grave Encounters
    5. Descent 2

  2. PL says:

    1. The Exorcist
    2. The Ring
    3. Poltergeist
    4. Exorcism of Emily Rose
    5. Anything about Satan… with the “Church Lady” inflection

  3. Mike says:

    I’m surprised no one mentioned the Descent!

    5. The Amityville Horror
    4. Paranormal Activity
    3. The Crazies
    2. The Descent
    1. Se7en

    • Yeah, The Descent was freaky. Many horror buffs love this one. I just watched The Crazies and wasn’t very impressed. Seven is terrific and that end always gets to me. So well done.

  4. wreckage3001 says:

    What exact detail of The Little Girl Who Lives Down The Lane gave you nightmares?

    • This was so very long ago and I remember that movie scaring me and giving me nightmares. I may be off and this may be vague, but I think there was a girl in the floor or in a hidden area that freaked me out. I put it down and cited it simply because I remember the movie frightening me when I was little. Does this image ring any bells for you? If not, I will give a much clearer vision. It may be very dated at this pont, I have no idea. It’s been over 20 years.

  5. 1. Texas Chainsaw Massacre
    2. Arachnophobia
    3. Murder by Numbers
    4. Zodiac
    5. Nosferatu

  6. I’ve seen so many horror films over the years, I’m a bit numb and jaded at this point, so this was more difficult for me than you would think. Some of these scared me as a kid, not sure if they would have the same impact now…

    The Excorcist (1973) Probably the scariest movie of all-time!
    City of the Living Dead (aka The Gates of Hell) (1980)
    [REC] (2007)
    Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark (1973) (Guillermo del Toro is currenlty involved with a remake)
    In the Mouth of Madness (1994)

    • Yeah, I included “Little Girl” because it scared the hell out of me as a kid and not sure if it would today…but remembered it. Interesting to know of the del Toro remake…hadn’t heard. I would imagine this would be tougher for you of all people. Sadly, I have only seen one of these five….

  7. Heather says:

    1. Gremlins
    2. Poltergeist
    3. 28 Days Later
    4. Dawn of The Dead (Synders)
    5. Childs Play

    • I forgot about 28 Days later. Good choices. Can’t get scared by Gremlins. They’re too cute for me and some of them look like my pug, Lily. Where you been, girl? Away for the 4th, I hope!!!

  8. Patrizia says:

    1. Jaws
    2. Gremlins
    3. Child’s play
    4. Exorcist
    5.Children of the corn

  9. tracey says:

    Halloween – MM is my worst nightmare
    The Shining
    Pet Cemetery – I can’t even talk about it without getting freaked out
    Silence of the Lambs
    Jaws – the reason I won’t set foot in water that I can not clearly see my toes in

  10. Donna says:

    Hi there! Okay… not in any particular order…
    1. Texas Chainsaw
    2. Flowers in the Attic
    3. Poltergeist
    4. Saw
    5. Woody Allen flicks

  11. Castor says:

    I tend to stay away from scary movies so I can’t even come up with 5 movies. My two are The Exorcist (never watched more than 15 minutes of it) and It (the TV movie)

    • Yeah, IT is real friggin’ freaky. Good choice. And I am with you. I rarely watch horror films just because many of them tend to be bad. But once and awhile I get the urge to watch one.

  12. Nadine says:

    Freddy 1 ,Halloween 1, paranormal Entity, paranormal activity, Jason 1

  13. Steve says:

    Yeah, The Shining. Number 1 for sure. And The Grudge and The Ring. Not Ju’on or Ringu, the American versions. They freaked me out like crazy. The Grudge broke one of the cardinal rules of hiding from scary things – THEY PUT THE MONSTER UNDER THE SHEETS! AHHHHH!

    • Yes, so true! They did break that rule! HA! Funny how Shining is on everyone’s list yet King did not care for what Kubrick did with it. Nice choices here….

      • Anonymous says:

        I hope King felt the same way about The Tommyknockers, The Langoliers, The Stand and the TV remake of The Shining. A lot of stuff he’s written has been made into garbage – and Kubrick’s probably handled his stuff better than anyone. (That includes The Running Man) 😉

        • Very true. Though Darabont does his stuff better than anyone else has. Kasdan did a nice job with Dreamcatcher. I hate to say it, but Reiner did an excellent job with Misery. Cronenberg’s Dead Zone was awesome too!

  14. Aaron says:

    Psycho
    The Birds
    The Abyss
    The Shining
    Showgirls (someone had to say it)

    • I don’t remember The Abyss being so scary. I have to see it again – I thought it was great. And Showgirls is so funny! Just saw a few minutes of that last week — I did not remember almost every scene having T&A in it…so much more than I thought there was.

  15. Pat A says:

    The Exorcist!!!!
    The Shinning
    Friday the 13th 1st one
    Jason the 1st one
    Shelby’s Frankinstein with Robert D.

    • Friday and Jason are the very same, no?
      Definitely The Shining!!!
      Frankenstein scared me only because of how God awful it was!!! Branagh should be ashamed of what he did to that novel…

  16. Corey says:

    1. The Shining
    2. Alien
    3. Psycho
    4. The People Under the Stairs
    5. Jacob’s Ladder

    It’s been a long time since I’ve seen the last two on my list, but I remember them giving me nightmares when I was a kid.

    • I was thinking Jacob’s Ladder too. That’s a great choice. I have to get myself to watch that one again. It has been awhile. A great movie. Never saw your #4, but will look it up and see! Thanks for sharing!!! I know how much you like Psycho from reading your blog!

  17. Raul Duke says:

    1) Hostel
    2) Motel Hell
    3) Alien
    4) Jaws
    5) Long Island Cannibal Massacre

    There… BOO!

  18. Nora says:

    AHHHHHHHH!!! So many…

    Blair Witch Project
    The Ring
    Seven
    The Shining
    and Gigli (movie scared the shit out of me…)

    OK, if you won’t accept Gigli… #1-POLTERGEIST!!!! (still having nightmares)

    • Raul Duke says:

      Nora,
      Seven really? Did Kevin Spacey scare you? Did you imagine your head in the box???

    • Great choices. I have never seen Gigli. The reviews SCARED me away before the movie had a chance to. Everything scares you so I would imagine you had so much to pick from. Poltergeist is a good one. No House on haunted Hill??? Rush’s performance scared me! 🙂

      • Nora says:

        Hahaha Gigli jokes never get old!!! HORRIFIC movie! I know, almost put House on Haunted Hill – didn’t quite make the cut this time. Surely frightening, though, on so many levels. The house knows Microsoft Word, and distributes large sums of money! And Taye Diggs lives!

  19. Dan says:

    There have been several films that have scared the crap out of me but few films that have significantly frightened the life out of me as much as William Friedkin’s The Exorcist.

    I’d put The Shining up there along with Jaws and An American Werewolf In London. I made a few more suggestions in my scariest scenes feature here: http://www.top10films.co.uk/archives/216

    • Great choices and the link is terrific, as always. So glad you brought up The Vanishing! That shit was scary – so much more than the American version with the tacked on happy ending (although Bridges rocked!). Rosemary’s baby is a winner too!

      • Dan says:

        I haven’t actually seen the remake of The Vanishing. What happens in the happy ending?

        • I really like the remake and Jeff Bridges is pretty damn good. Then in the happy ending, when Bridges tries to bury Sutherland alive — of course he is saved and lives a happy life with the new girlfriend. In the original, of course, he dies and it is awesome. You should see the remake – it’s very good, up til the end.

Leave a Reply

