Gimme 5: Cast Away Theme

The only merit I feel that the over-long, over-dull film Cast Away really has is that it suits my own personal needs for this week’s “Gimme 5” feature. So here it is: you are stranded on a remote island all by yourself. It’s just you alone and a bunch of coconuts. And ok, fine…I’ll throw Wilson on the island with you just to keep you company. What 5 DVD’s would you want packed in your knapsack? Or, to really stick with the Cast Away theme, which 5 DVD’s would you want preserved in one of your FedEx boxes?

And don’t worry about where your power/electricity is coming from. Just pretend it’s like that overly pretentious, style-over-substance TV show that just went off the air (Thank God) where things just popped up on the island without any reason or logic attached to it whatsoever. So what 5 movies could you not live without on this tropical haven all by yourself???

Gimme 5 Movies You Want With You on A Deserted Island!!!

I will start:

1. The Godfather (gotta have my Brando/Corleone fix)
2. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
3. Annie Hall Hannah & Her Sisters (this Woody film actually has an uplifting ending)
4. Scenes from A Marriage (not sure I’d survive without some Bergman)
5. It’s A Wonderful Life (to inspire me and keep me cool on those 95 degree days)

Now, it’s YOUR Turn!!!

33 Responses to Gimme 5: Cast Away Theme

  1. tracey says:

    Goodfellas – to remind me of home 😉
    Stand By Me – Love this movie! Plus Dreyfuss’ voice is very soothing to me
    The Big Lebowski – no explanation necessary
    Mary Poppins – even deserted islands can be Jolly with Mary!
    Elf – so I can laugh my ass off through the lonely holidays

    • Good flicks. love Elf…that was my reasoning for It’s a Wonderful Life. I first put Miracle on 34th Street, which is my all-time favorite holiday movie. But Elf is up there. Nice to have the Dude on the island with you. Can never go wrong with Jeff Bridges by your side.

      • tracey says:

        Gotta say I’m a little surprised at you for not having Mr. Bridges on your list because, well, you know….

  2. Patrizia says:

    1. Empire records
    2. Goodfellas
    3. Interview with a vampire
    4. Lion King
    5. H20

  3. Jules DelGado says:

    1) The Last Detail
    2) My Cousin Vinny
    3) Yankee Doodle Dandy
    4) Goodfellas
    5) Pride Of the Yankees

  4. Heather says:

    Aliens
    Labyrinth (I’d have to have David Bowie with me on an Island)
    The Fellowship Of The Ring
    The Empire Strikes back
    and

    Jurassic Park

    • what is a deserted island without Mr. Bowie??? Wish he did more films actually as he is pretty good in front of the camera. No comedies? Don’t you laugh, woman? 🙂

      • Heather says:

        I’d rather have stuff blow up, and comedy within a film that isn’t a comedy is often funnier than an actual comedy. After seeing the A-Team this weekend i’m convinced my theory on this is true.

        Jurassic Park and Empire Strikes Back have plenty of funny moments within.

  5. I need 5 films that were uplifting somehow. But of course, uplifting films about happy people would only make me feel sadder all alone on a desert island…hmm…so…:

    …let’s go with downbeat films that are just great:

    5. Taxi Driver
    4. Apocalypse Now
    3. A Clockwork Orange
    2. Alien (not so downbeat but I’d rather be alone on a desert island than be on the Nostromo with that thing running around)
    1. The Exorcist (well, it seems I’m quite lucky actually – sun, sea, sand…!)

  6. I need five films that were uplifting somehow. But of course, uplifting films about happy people would only make me feel sadder all alone on a desert island…hmm…so…:

    …let’s go with downbeat films that are just great:

    5. Taxi Driver
    4. Apocalypse Now
    3. A Clockwork Orange
    2. Alien (not so downbeat but I’d rather be alone on a desert island than be on the Nostromo with that thing running around)
    1. The Exorcist (well, it seems I’m quite lucky actually – sun, sea, sand…!)

  7. Corey says:

    In no particular order…

    1. Fargo
    2. A Clockwork Orange
    3. Office Space
    4. The Big Lebowski
    5. 8 1/2

    • All awesome films, Corey. Your site looks great by the way. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the countdown of films. I will check in often — and bookmark it. “Clockwork” is definitely in my own Top 10 – I can see it will rank quite high on your Top 25 films…

  8. Nora says:

    Meet Me in St. Louis
    Casablanca
    Pulp Fiction
    A Day at the Races
    Beauty and the Beast

    • “Pulp” seems so out of place here! HA! Great choices. I was thinking Singin in the Rain for the same reasons I suppose you chose Meet me in St. Louis. And you can’t go on an island without the Marx Brothers, right???

      • Nora says:

        Haha I know… it was “Pulp” or “Fanny and Alexander”, but I went with the more entertaining choice. I could watch it a million times.

        NO, I couldn’t go anywhere without the Marx Brothers!!!! They’re the best!

  9. Raul Duke says:

    1) Pope of Greenwich Village. Will give me the NYC fix I require.
    2) Raging Bull, didn’t win an Oscar but should have.
    3) Scarface. Can watch this over and over again no problem.
    4) Arthur ( will need to laugh, serenity now!)
    5) Pal Joey, something light with Rita Hayworth and Deborah Kerr. Giddy Up!

    • Nora says:

      I’ve only seen #2 (great choice)… Have to add some of these to my Netflix queue

      • Raul Duke says:

        Nora,
        I almost put Pulp on my list but Scareface bumped it. I don’t think you will be disappointed with any thing on my list. Pope is one of my top five all time. Vincent Vega makes up for the stinker Staying Alive. Royal with cheese please!

        • Nora says:

          I just added “Pope” and “Pal Joey”! Holding off on “Scarface” for now.. think I would need a viewing buddy for that one 😉

          Haha! “You mind if I have some of your tasty beverage to wash this down?”

    • Your “Pope” is my Annie Hall. Enough with Pope, already!!! Rich won’t have it on his island, that’s for sure. Arthur is an awesome choice….still underrated to this day! No Godfather? What kind of guinea are you???

      • Raul Duke says:

        Pope handles the WOP quota nicely. Net hours of GF 1 & 2 already ridiculous levels. I have not had Pope on one list or comment so far. AH has shown up on almost all your pages. FACT!

Leave a Reply

