Peter Eramo’s Open Letter to Tom Cruise

It has been widely reported that Tom Cruise is in talks with Paramount Pictures and MTV Films to reprise his role as the foul-mouthed, hip-hop loving Les Grossman (from Ben Stiller’s hilarious 2008 film, Tropic Thunder). However, it won’t be in another scene-stealing supporting role but rather, a movie revolving around the Grossman character — Les Grossman’s own movie. I absolutely loved Tropic Thunder (voting it the #1 comedy of the decade in a recent list published on this website) and feel that Cruise’s performance in it helped make it the great success that it was. When I read about this possibility, I became worried. I’m not usually one for writing letters to actors at all, but I feel it my professional duty as a writer of film and tremendous fan of the fictional role to write one now. The reputation of Grossman is at stake! So here is my letter to Tom Cruise:

 

Dear Mr. Cruise:

First, I would like to start by telling you that I have enjoyed so much of your work over the years and think you have created some of the most memorable film roles in the past 20+ years. Growing up, I remember loving your work in Risky Business, opposite the legendary Paul Newman in The Color of Money, and yes, I even enjoyed Cocktail immensely (still proudly ranking high in my favorite “guilty pleasure” films of all-time). I thought you were quite brilliant in Rain Man and gave a moving and unforgettable performance in Oliver Stone’s Born on the Fourth of July.  I thought your superb work as Frank Mackey in P.T. Anderson’s Magnolia was daring and courageous, helping to make it the masterpiece that it is. And of course, as you know by now, you stole the show in Tropic Thunder, showing us your funny side by playing the now famously vile, money-hungry, vulgar movie executive Les Grossman. Your resume is certainly an impressive one and still, you remain one of America’s most bankable stars. What I have always found so impressive is how you’ve always managed to balance your enormous celebrity, while at the same time, apply yourself to your craft as an actor in such demanding roles and working for some of our most talented filmmakers (Kubrick, Spielberg, Redford, Levinson, et al). Though you are one of Hollywood’s biggest “movie stars” you still manage to push yourself as an actor and I certainly admire that. With that said, I feel that, in the wake of your recent appearance on the MTV Movie Awards and your ongoing discussions concerning the “Untitled Les Grossman Project,” I need to voice my tremendous concern to you at this time.

I understand all of the reasons you might have for wanting to actually go through with starring in such a vehicle — well, money for starters. It’s almost always about the money (didn’t you have to scream that loudly into a phone once to Cuba Gooding, Jr.?). I understand that if you are planning on gunning for that Oscar which has eluded you thus far, that starring in such a raucous comedy gives you the ability to show everyone your range. Also, playing the Les Grossman character helps to continue to build massive goodwill with the movie-going public who may remember you jumping on Oprah’s couch like a sophomoric wild man and knocking Brooke Shields down a couple of pegs because you don’t believe that people should be taking prescription medication as it goes against what you personally may believe in. I also understand that many simply like seeing you having fun at your own expense. I get all of that. And yet, I still think it’s a terrible idea.

Spin-offs, for the most part, usually suck. There are too many examples of the failures (U.S. Marshals, The Scorpion King, Beauty Shop, etc.) and very few, if any, that can be called good movies. Les Grossman had, what? Ten minutes of screen time in Tropic Thunder? Maybe 15 minutes at most. That was the perfect amount. It left us wanting more. It still keeps us wanting more, which is why it’s so damn good. The old comedian’s adage is to “Leave them wanting more.”  Starring in a full-length film revolving around Grossman will only kill it. It will turn into a “Saturday Night Live” sketch which is funny for 4 minutes and turn into a terrible 100 minutes of disappointment (see just about any SNL skit-turned-movie). What also made Les Grossman such a great screen character was the element of surprise. When it was playing in theatres, very few even knew that you were even in it, let alone heard of such a character. I know when I saw it, I was completely taken by surprise and I loved every minute of it. Now, that surprise factor is completely gone only to be replaced by high expectations that most likely cannot be met.

To put it simply, making such a movie would be overkill. And as a big fan of your work (despite having to sit through Far and Away and Days of Thunder), I feel that you are better than that and have so much more to offer to your fans. You already make the big money, so it can’t just be about the financial reward here. You can make that money doing just about any other film. Don’t kill the Golden Goose, Mr. Cruise…it was great for the small part it played in Stiller’s wonderful comedy and will always be remembered. A full-length feature will only hurt the legacy of the character that you brought to remarkable life.

Thank you for reading this. I hope you have a very successful opening weekend with your new film. If you need any further career advice, then I’m always here…you know where to find me.

Yours Truly,

Peter Eramo, Jr.

15 Responses to Peter Eramo’s Open Letter to Tom Cruise

  1. Pingback: LAMB Acting School 101: Tom Cruise | Movie News Blog

  2. Olive says:

    I’m not one for spin-offs either, they usually don’t work. Loved this character, but I think we will quickly tire of it. Enjoyed Cruise’s recent performance at the MTV Movie Awards, but it doesn’t mean I wanna watch a whole movie with Grossman. Yawn!

  3. mcarteratthemovies says:

    I agree with you that the part of Les Grossman probably won’t translate to a good full-length film. I’m not against spinoffs on principle or anything — “Get Him to the Greek” was quite good — but the character has to be one that keeps our interest for 90 min. While I enjoyed the tiny cameos Cruise had in “Tropic Thunder,” I can see his character getting annoying after about 15 minutes.

    • I have yet to see GHTTG. You are right though. After 15 minutes, it won’t be fresh anymore. They’ll find some way to ruin this very funny character if they smell money. And they do smell it.

  4. Anna says:

    i couldn’t agree more with your letter. let’s hope he reads it 😉

  5. Castor says:

    Tom Cruise is a movie star on the decline and I think he is desperate to do something to
    “revive” his career. Watch for a potential major flop this weekend with Knight and Day (which is on a 5-day weekend) which would further confirm the previous statement.

    • The new film looks terrible and you are right…it will be a box-office disappointment. Trailer didn’t make me want to see it at all. He needs an image brush-up and sadly, Les Grossman helps in that department.

  6. Raul says:

    I love Les, but agree a entire movie of 100+ minutes would degrade the image. Les is my business mentor.

  7. Nora says:

    Dear Peter,

    Word.
    🙂

  8. …a more interesting full-length movie version of a Tom Cruise cameo would be the life and times of Frank T.J. Mackey from Paul T Anderson’s Magnolia.

Leave a Reply

