Gimme 5: Your Top 5 Comedy Films!

A New Feature here on Magic Lantern Film Blog — hoping to hear more from YOU, the movie fans & make this site more interactive. I can’t take credit for ‘Gimme 5’ though, as it was suggested to me by Raul Duke, an avid reader of this site. To prove to him that this is not a blog run by a tyrannical despot, I decided to incorporate it into the mix.

How does it work? Very easy. I give you the topic and you give me Your Personal Top 5. You don’t need to do any fancy write-ups or anything. Just gimme your list of 5. Simple, right?

I posted my “Top 25 Comedy Films of the Decade” list quite recently. Along with this, the wonderful Anomalous Material film blog is currently conducting an outstanding “Greatest Comedy Tournament” (which you should go on and cast your votes) on its site. So for the 1st ‘Gimme 5,’ I will stay with the comedy genre.

Gimme Your Top 5 Favorite Comedy Films! I will start…

1. Annie Hall                           
2. Tootsie
3. Arthur
4. Defending Your Life
5. The Big Lebowski

Now — It’s Your Turn!!!

42 Responses to Gimme 5: Your Top 5 Comedy Films!

  1. PL says:

    My picks are influenced by the age at which first saw them…

    1. Home Alone- i know this is a good pick based on my young children’s laughter when they watch it, which they do regularly.
    2. Airplane

  2. Patrizia says:

    1. wayne’s world
    2. Clerks
    3. Mallrats
    4. Be kind rewind
    5. Up in Smoke

  3. Amy Wood says:

    1. Monty Python and the Holy Grail
    2. Spaceballs
    3. Trading Places
    4. Office Space
    5. Vacation

    • Hey Amy! Never a big Monty Python fan myself (I know, for shame)….love Office Space, of course. And Trading Places is right up there — terrific movie and so funny!

  4. Aiden R says:

    1. Monty Python and the Holy Grail
    2. Dumb and Dumber
    3. Caddyshack
    4. The Big Lebowski
    5. Animal House/Sleeper

    Never even heard of Defending Your Life. Gotta check that out.

  5. Heather says:

    1. The Three Amigos
    2. Monty Python And The Holy Grail
    3. Get Shorty
    4. Billy Madison
    5. Waynes World

  6. Dan says:

    1. The Apartment
    2. The Big Lebowski
    3. Sideways
    4. Harold and Maude
    5. Some LIke It Hot

    That’s today…but there’s probably a pool of about 20 that I could chop and change.

  7. 1. Blazing Saddles
    2. The Big Lebowski
    3. The King of Comedy
    4. Airplane
    5. When Harry Met Sally

  8. Red says:

    I still have to see some of the older classics, so I’ll stick with somewhat modern films…

    1. Monty Python and the Holy Grail

    2. Ghostbusters

    3. Tommy Boy

    4. Anchorman

    5. And for shits and giggles, Zoolander.

    • Zoolander is awesome! Love it!!! I suppose I have to watch Anchorman again. everyone is listing it and I remember not being thrilled with it.

      • Lizzy says:

        Anchorman is one of those films that you need to watch 3 or 4 times before you understand how funny it is. “Great story. Compelling, and rich.”

        Also, Peter you shouldn’t be so critical when you watch it and you’ll see the humor easily! 😛 It’s not a movie to critique just a movie to enjoy!

        • “compelling?” “rich?” are we talking about the same film here? Never struck me as a movie you have to see 2 or 3 times to appreciate it. But I know what you are saying….just sit back, relax and enjoy the silliness — and not judge it. I get you. Makes sense.

  9. Castor says:

    Thanks for the link love, you are much too kind sir!

  10. FRC Ruben says:

    1. The big Lebowski

    2. Anchorman

    3. Modern Times

    4. The Graduate

    5. Dr. Stangelove

  11. Raul Duke says:

    Sleeper- Gotta love the orgasmatron!
    Animal House- Can we dance with your dates?
    Arthur-Don’t you hate Perry’s wife?
    Time Bandits
    Talladaga Nights- Baby Jesus in swaddling clothes is my favorite too…

    • What the hell is Time Bandits doing here?! Gotta put Arthur. Would you forget the Moose!

      • Raul says:

        An eclectic pick for those of us who love Monty Python.

      • Raul says:

        Peter,
        Have you even seen this movie? It’s classic monty python…
        “If I were creating the world I wouldn’t mess about with butterflies and daffodils. I would have started with lasers, eight o’clock, Day One! “

        • It has been a long time. Perhaps if I watched it again, now as I am so much older and wiser, I will appreciate it more. But I am not a fan of Monty Python films. I know…the shame!

    • Amy Wood says:

      LOVE Time Bandits!
      It won’t make my top 5 but it was a pretty great movie and is severely underrated. There were many times I wish I had a big lump of evil so I could make people touch it and poof away.

  12. 1. The Big Lebowski

    2. Monty Python and the Holy Grail

    3. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

    4. Wayne’s World

    5. Airplane!

  13. Olive says:

    Great idea!

    Mine are;

    1. Anchorman
    2. The Life of Brian
    3. The Apartment
    4. Groundhog Day
    5. The Big Lebowski

  14. Nora says:

    5. Modern Times
    4. Animal Crackers
    3. Some Like It Hot
    2. Airplane!
    1. A Day at the Races

Leave a Reply

